• Home
  • About Us
  • Operations
  • Investor Relations
  • Contact Us

The Board of Directors currently has 3 sub-committees; the Audit, Remuneration and Nominations Committees. The terms of reference and membership for these sub-committees may be found within the Corporate Governance section of this website

Board of Directors

Eskil Jersing, Chief Executive Officer

Eskil (dob 1964) joined the Company in March 2015. He holds a BSc in Geophysics from University College Cardiff and an MSc in Petroleum Geology from Imperial College London. He started his career in the oil and gas industry in 1985 as a Field Seismologist with SSL in Papua New Guinea.

From 1993 to 2009 he worked for Enterprise Oil (London, Aberdeen, Houston, and Brazil), and following the takeover, Shell International (Houston); initially as a Senior Geophysicist, moving on to be the Gulf of Mexico Exploration Strategy and Planning Manager and finally as the Gulf of Mexico Paleogene Exploration Manager.

In 2009 Eskil joined Marathon Oil (Houston) as their Exploration Manager (Conventional New Ventures) Worldwide and subsequently Apache Corporation (Perth) as Director Worldwide Exploration and New Ventures Asia Pacific. Most recently he was Head of New Ventures and Co-Head of Mergers & Acquisitions at Petrobras Oil & Gas BV (Rotterdam).

Michael Kroupeev, Non-Executive Chairman

Michael (dob 1966), who joined Sterling Energy's Board as a Non-Executive Director in May 2016, was appointed as the Non-Executive Chairman of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He is a member of the Nominations committee.

Mr Kroupeev has 21 years’ experience working within the exploration and production sector. After University in both Russia and the United Kingdom, he began his career working for Dana Petroleum plc as a Director in 1994.In 1995, Mr Kroupeev founded Waterford Finance and Investment Limited (“Waterford”). Waterford is an oil and gas focused vehicle, specialising in the financing of oil, gas and other energy related projects in emerging markets. He has been directly involved in the capital raising for natural resource projects and in acquiring, restructuring, developing and divesting such assets. Waterford has a number of substantial shareholdings in oil and gas companies with operations in Europe, Africa, North America and Australasia.

Leo Koot, Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Leo (dob 1963) was appointed the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He chairs the Audit and Remuneration Committees and is a member of the Nominations Committee.

Mr Koot has over 28 years' experience in the Energy sector and an MSc in Petroleum Engineering from Delft University, the Netherlands. Following a successful start to his career with Shell International, he has been involved in multiple successful business start-ups of scale including EDP Ltd, TAQA Bratani (UK) Ltd and TAQA Iraq BV.

Leo Koot was appointed as Executive Chairman of Colombus Energy Resources on 10 May 2017.

Ilya Belyaev, Non-Executive Director

Ilya (dob 1981) was appointed a Non-Executive Director of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He is a member of the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees.

Mr Belyaev has acted as investor in private equity and venture capital projects via Supremum Capital and Concentric VC, having closed over a dozen transactions in Russia and UK with a focus on finance and real estate sectors. Prior to moving into private equity and venture capital, Mr Belyaev spent over 8 years in investment banking at JPMorgan, Barclays Capital and VEB Capital in London and Moscow. Mr Belyaev graduated with distinction from Moscow State University with a MSc in Mathematics.