Sterling Energy

Board of Directors

Diligence. Experience. Integrity.

dmarshall v2.jpg

Chief Executive Officer

David Marshall

David joined Sterling Energy in June 2018. He has 35 years' experience in oil and gas production and development specialising in technical solutions for accessing production from stranded assets.

He has held managerial positions in onshore oil and gas drilling and production operations in Tunisia and Turkmenistan, and offshore in the North Sea, Gulf of Mexico, Gabon, the Middle East, Egypt and Holland. More recently David served as CEO of DEO Petroleum Limited, prior to its acquisition by Parkmead. He subsequently worked for Enquest in Egypt prior to becoming Chairman of Arenite Petroleum and Director of Boreas Resources.

David holds a Master's Degree in Petroleum Engineering from Heriot Watt University and a Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Civil Engineering from Glasgow University.

mkroupeev_grey v2.jpg

Non-Executive Chairman

Michael Kroupeev

Michael joined Sterling Energy's Board as a non-executive Director in May 2016 and was appointed as non-executive Chairman of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He is the Chairman of the Nominations Committee.

Michael has 25 years’ experience working within the exploration and production sector. After attending University in Russia and the United Kingdom studying Plasma physics and gaining an MBA at the London Business school respectively, he began his UK career working for Dana Petroleum plc as a Director in 1994. In 1995, Michael founded Waterford. Waterford is an oil and gas focused vehicle, specialising in the financing of oil, gas and other energy related projects in emerging markets. He has been directly involved in the capital raising for natural resource projects and in acquiring, restructuring, developing and divesting such assets. Waterford has a number of substantial shareholdings in oil and gas companies with operations in Europe, Africa, former Soviet Union and the Middle East. Michael also served as a Director of Sibir Energy Plc from 1998 till 2000.

lkoot v2.jpg

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Leo Koot

Leo was appointed the Senior Independent non-executive Director of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He chairs the Audit and Remuneration Committees and is a member of the Nominations Committee.

Leo has over 29 years' experience in the energy sector and an MSc in Petroleum Engineering from Delft University, the Netherlands. Following a successful start to his career with Shell International, he has been involved in multiple successful business start-ups of scale including EDP Ltd, TAQA Bratani (UK) Ltd and TAQA Iraq BV.

He was Managing Director of TAQA in the UK from 2008 to 2013, delivering 60,000 bopd and $1.7 billion revenue in 2013. Subsequently, Leo was President of TAQA Iraq from 2013 to 2015 primarily responsible for the Atrush field development and Sulaymaniyah power plant in Kurdistan.

Leo is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Columbus Energy Resources PLC, a Managing Partner of MENA Gulf Investments and a non-executive Chairman of Tulip Oil.

Ilya_for_docs v2.jpg

Non-Executive Director

Ilya Belyaev

Ilya was appointed a non-executive Director of Sterling Energy in January 2017. He is a member of the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees.

Ilya has acted as investor in private equity and venture capital projects via Supremum Capital where he is currently Chief Executive Officer, Managing Partner and fund co-founder, and Concentric VC where he is a Venture Partner, having closed over a dozen transactions in Russia and UK with a focus on finance and real estate sectors.

Prior to moving into private equity and venture capital, Ilya spent over 8 years in investment banking at JPMorgan, Barclays Capital and VEB Capital in London and Moscow. Ilya graduated from Moscow State University in 2004, with an MSc in Mathematics.